A Week in Andalusia – El Gastor & Grazalema

Whenever I travel, I like to document my adventure as best I can. For my trip to Spain last July, I had really wanted to vlog, however, it ended up being too hot to carry around my digital camera and instead I resorted to shooting on film. My Canon AE-1 and a couple rolls of Portra 400 went everywhere with me.

We arrived in Malaga and quickly picked up our rental car. We then began the drive from Malaga to El Gastor where we were staying.

IMG_8226.jpg

Every night we would watch the sun set behind the mountains and then stay up talking and watching the stars.

IMG_8231.jpg

I had to take a siesta everyday around noon until 2pm as I wasn’t very good at coping with the heat and would end up with a migraine. However, after my nap, I’d jump back into the pool, or rather have to be pulled in, so as to avoid painfully warming up in the cool water.

The place felt very magical, I’m glad that I don’t know any Andalusian folklore, otherwise, I’m sure I would have convinced myself that there were creatures lurking in the desert hills surrounding us.

IMG_8330.jpg

Grazalema, a beautiful cliff top town was the first place we visited. Of course, visits only happened after two in the afternoon, so as to avoid the hottest part of the day. The road to get there was crazy bendy, and was often a single track lane.

IMG_8268.jpg

When we finally got to Grazalema, we had ice cream and sat in the town square. We wandered the streets, seeking shade between the houses.

IMG_8303.jpg

Surrounded by tree covered mountains, Grazalema has a very tropical feel to it.

IMG_8334.jpg

Grazalema is a picturesque town, with its white painted houses and greenery. I highly recommend a visit if you are ever in the area!

IMG_8285.jpg

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

