Old Montreal // New Memories

Once a year, two of my friends and I go on a pilgrimage to Montreal’s China Town to appreciate the culmination of the island’s Chinese culture. We stuffed ourselves with vegetarian dumplings, Dragon Beard candies and Bubble tea. Happily satiated we continued our journey into Old Montreal, the historic cartier of the city.

unnamed

 Unfortunately, most of China Town was under construction while we were there so I didn’t get any photos of the area. Hopefully these dumplings and scallion pancakes will satisfy! 

IMG_8257

I’m never disappointed when I visit Old Montreal. With a European air, cobblestone streets and delicious food trucks, it’s always a pleasure to be there. My friends and I took pictures in Place D’Armes, in front of the Notre Dame Basilica where Celine Dion got married and the monument fountain dedicated to Montreal’s Founder, Paul de Chomedey. 

IMG_8265



While on our way to the water front, we passed by the Cours Le Royer. I pulled my friends over so that we could take a closer look. I felt like I was in Paris! Surrounded by converted warehouses, now made into apartments, the area had small water fountains and benches, acting as a quite get-away from the busy streets nearby.

IMG_8288

We made it a goal to take pictures at all the MTL MOMENT signs we could find. Located all over the city, the picture frames allow you to take a cute photo with a scenic Montreal background behind you. The two we found were located in Place Jacques-Cartier, surrounded by artist street vendors and one in the Old Port, with a view of the Cirque de Soleil tents behind it. 

IMG_8375

IMG_8374

This past winter my boyfriend and I went ice skating on the canal. It was absolutely beautiful! Returning with my friends, I was even more impressed with the calm nature of the park. You can rent pedal boats on the canal or lounge on the grass while admiring the view of the Bonsecours Market. We bumped into friendly tourists from New York and Shanghai who though it was cool that we were having a tourist day in our own city. We explained that since one of my friends and I are both going to university outside of the province, we wanted to make the most of what we had here in our city.  

Screen Shot 2014-06-28 at 3.24.56 PM

It was a great way to appreciate the city I call home and a wonderful way to spend time with my friends. I can’t wait to have my next adventure!

Leave a Reply

